Fibre shopping · Spinning

Llyn Alpacas and Wendy’s Fibre Shed

This week has been our huge family get together. Once a year my husband’s family come together for a week and all 40ish of us find somewhere to stay and enjoy a big family holiday.

For me though I always like to find a little treasure of a yarn shop. I like it when I find a gem of a craft shop with some pretty yarns and bits and bobs but this year we are in Wales and what I really wanted was some locally produced fibre.

My first trip was to a little yarn shop in the village of Portmadog and it was a lovely, quaint little shop with lots of yarns and niknaks where I found some pretty little notions to add to my collection.

After asking on a fibre board for any local tips I was told of a treasure trove that was a 20 minute drive from where we were staying. On Saturday we drove out to Pwllheli to find Llyn Alpacas and Wendy’s Fibre Shed.

The sat nav easily found the place for us but unfortunately we couldn’t find anyone around so we came home (she is only open 4 days a week). Luckily on Sunday it was raining and I managed to convince my husband to make the return trip to try again and called ahead to make sure someone would be there.

It was definitely worth the return trip!

Wendy was lovely and so friendly, it was wonderdul to chat fibre with someone so passionate. We talked wheels and spinning and blending and she told me how to make a makeshift blending board (something that I will hopefully do soon after getting home).

The workshop is small but crammed with gorgeous fibre and much of it from her own herd of alpaca. Needless to say I had to leave with a couple of new fibre additions including some stunning caramel alpaca from Wendy’s herd and I cannot wait to get home to my wheel for a play.

If you are on the area do make time to go for a visit, you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

