Spinning

Out to Sea

This yarn is just fun. I literally had an idea and have managed to make it a reality. The next aim is to make it in to the pattern I have dreamed up for it.

It was definitely not all easy going. This is the yarn I was starting when my wheel was fighting me and it has been like that at times all through.

It is a thick and thin blue merino plied with a silver crochet thread and spiralled in several places. It sounds pretty easy but it meant a lot of tweaking of my tension as I went and was a big learning experience for me. For all the unevenness that is in your first yarns it’s actually pretty hard to do it deliberately once you know how not to.

20170404_083156.jpg

I’m really pleased with the final result, I love the spiralling and currently have about 100m with a little more left to ply but I have had to order more silver. Just need to get it soaked and properly finished now.

20170404_083251_001.jpg

Leave a Reply

