Spinning

Why you should keep learning

So, I am part of several online spinning groups and occasionally I get very confused by the various bits of schpiel I come across and so I made today my research day.

So far I have learned what a Diz is (it’s a little device with holes in to help you create longer lengths of fibres for spinning) and that the method I am favouring to spin is a supported long draw. I like finding out this sort of stuff, it keeps me busy and gives me endless new opportunities to experiment.

I found out how to use my hand carders and I really want to get my hands on a whole fleece to give them a go and really get a feel for how the whole process works.

All this and it’s not even lunch time!

The next thing I am going to find out about is different finishing techniques. The yarn is am currently making I am planning to add thicker spiral sections to and I want to do that by plying it with a shiny silver thread. I am really excited about it, seriously I picked up this blue merino and I just knew what I wanted to do with it. I even have an idea of what I want to make with it when it’s done and that never happens!

If you can think of some interesting things for me to look in to I’d love to hear them šŸ˜Š

3 thoughts on “Why you should keep learning

  1. i was wondering, when you first time started to spin, did it happen that your wheel kept turning backwards, when you slowed down treadling? I tried spinning for the first time yesterday, but my wheel kept going backwards and unravelling the yarn… im bit worried the wheel needs better balancing šŸ˜

    Like

    1. Yes, I still do it sometimes now but it’s usually if I’m not paying attention and release the pressure under my foot at the wrong time. It’s a bit like on a bike, once your pedal gets to the top your momentum will either take it forward or back, if you push with your heel it will go one way and if you use your toes it will go the other. Once you get your speed up a little the momentum will keep taking you forward, it’s just a matter of practice ā˜ŗ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

