Spinning

Practice makes perfect

Although I am still far from perfect I can definitely see that I’m getting better.

I’m trying to spin more evenly and I definitely think I am accomplishing that. I’ve also managed a finer single this time (although it doesn’t look it this close up, you’ll just have to take my word for it 😉),

20170303_144054.jpg

and I am more aware of what my foot is doing on the treadle. There are times when I am managing to just spin and not having to think about everything that I am doing, though if I lose concentration for too long my foot slips forward, probably from just wearing socks so there’s no real grip.

The only issue I have had is that because I am now spinning more finely I’ve had a few breakages. Some were over spun with not enough fibre and some didn’t have enough spin. It’s frustrating but good because it gives me chance to learn something with each one, even if it’s just to pay attention to my hands and feet at the same time.

Leave a Reply

